Well hellooo there.

I wish I could say we’ve been away on tropical vacation.  That sounds like a nice excuse for blatant blog neglect doesn’t it?

The thing is, I’ve been a photo slacker, which in my world leads to blog slacking.   I blame it mostly on our computer and a general loss of writing mojo but the truth of the matter is this: I hate uploading photos to the computer, every time I’m afraid it’s going to be the end. {of our computer}

But I’m committed to pushing through. I can do this.  I can out-wait Apple.  I can make do without an O key.  Well, that and I’m committed to preserving bits and pieces of our life for me to pour over when I’m old.

Of course, I’ve never been one to make a long story short, but in this case it might help to just focus on some key points that took place during our tropical vacation.  {a.k.a. the last month.}

* Charlie turned 5. I don’t want to talk about it.

* William turned 3.  I don’t want to talk about that either.

* Charlie got a full sleeve tatoo.  Didn’t see that coming.

* Henry painted his masterpiece that’s been two years in the making.

* We celebrated my grandma’s life at quite possibly the most inspirational memorial service ever.  Grandma was a witness in everything she did and it was an honor to recognize her love and devotion to the Lord.

* William started pre-school.  Let’s talk later about that OK?

*We inherited my grandmother’s beloved piano.  It’s a beautiful family treasure that we are honored to have.  I’m already on the hunt for a piano teacher for Henry.

*  Of course the piano is a blessing, but it did require us to change-up our living room furniture.  In my world, un-planned change = uncomfortable.  And I really, really hope this doesn’t sound like complaining because I’m not, but I’ve had to poke a bit of fun at myself at how much this furniture switch-up has thrown me off-balance.

* This probably isn’t a new point but that one was getting long.  In the midst of all of this *change* I’ve learned a few things about myself.  One of my greatest skills is moving the same 20 knickknacks around our house and making it look new.  {or maybe I’m fooling myself?}  For Pete’s sake it took me 7 years to figure out that darn living room.  That’s a lot of knickknack moving for me and furniture moving for my friends.  On the bright side, perhaps all of those years playing house as a child are starting to pay off?   I should also point out that I played *Nordstrom* when I was a kid.  {not joking.}  That too has served me well later in life.

Whew, still with me?  Just a few more, I promise.

* We bought a new vacuum.  That might not seem like something worth documenting, but in my world it has been life-changing.  I’m also fully convinced that for the last 11 years I have simply been pushing dirt around.

* The boys camped out in the backyard.  Add in some s’mores and it was a roaring success!

* Yesterday I worked out for the first time in over a decade.  As in I went to an actual GYM.  Today I can barely walk.  And heaven forbid something falls to the floor.  I plan on going back tomorrow.

* Out of sympathy Alex made dinner for us last night while I drank a beer and complained about how sore I was.  And wouldn’t you just believe it, the kids gobbled down every last bite of the veggie stir fry.  Including the tofu, the peppers, the zucchini, you name a veggie they ate it.  Even William who typically survives on applesauce and bananas and cheese.  Go figure.

2 thoughts on “Well hellooo there.

Leave a Reply

