The Paradox

via

I’ll just get straight to the point.

Last week was hard, and in ways I least expected.  The usual daily challenges of child-rearing, holding my tongue, serving as an encouraging wife and seeking Him; those seem to come naturally.

It was the ugliness of the world on display and unfolding right before me {in the newspaper, on the web, etc.} that caught me off guard.

Truth be told I don’t give much attention to *current events.*  Call it what you will but I’d rather be soaking up the goodness and beauty of the world instead of watching it implode as people fight for what *feels* right.  I was silent.  Did I remain quiet out of fear? Weary of scorn perhaps?

Perhaps, I reasoned, this is the beginning of a new refining process?  I’m able to take great comfort knowing that while my faith feels powerless against the world, this is also a perfect time and place for Him to do a great work.

There is beauty to be found in the ugly, but first there must be refining.

Armed with this knowledge I will still continue to speak His message of truth and love and of joy from our quiet corner of the world.  I do this knowing that my words won’t always be received in love.  That others might call me *un-loving* or *close-minded.*

No matter what my hope remains strong in Him.  I surrender myself to Him, waiting on His power to be made perfect in my weakness.

Will I always *get it?*  No, because in all honesty, His ways upend the ways of this world.  I stumbled upon a new {to me} blog Between you & me that hits the nail on the head:

Life with God is a paradox.
…the world says our status comes from who we are financially and socially
while God says that the poor are the richest in His kingdom.
…the world says our power comes through control, money, fame, and influence
while God says power comes through service, sacrifice and humility.
…the world says our freedom comes from the law and obeying it
while God says freedom comes from understanding and living under his grace- acknowledging daily that our relationship with God isn’t about our vain attempts at good works but instead the finished work of Christ on the cross.

If anything remember this.  While His way may not always be our way, He has a plan for our lives.  His path is narrow and only a few will choose to take it.   But know this, it is open to every single one of us.

Are you willing to say yes?

Not one person who chooses Christ will be turned away.

But, He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses so that Christ’s power can rest on me.  2 Corinthians 12:9

One thought on “The Paradox

Leave a Reply

