Speaking of snow days…

Is there anything better than a snow storm and a garbage truck parked in front of your house?  Certainly not if you are William…

We’re in the midst of a pretty major snow storm around here.  The weather man said we might break some sort of record.  A record that will be measured in feet rather than inches.  Now, I’m all for a good snow storm – I love it all – the school delays and cancellations, shoveling, helping little hands and feet into mittens ten times a day.  However if you consider our plans for the end of this week this storm is quite comical.  Really.

Last Friday Henry and I had our own special snow day.  Every other week this winter his class is taking Friday off and heading to the ski slopes.  Many parents have helped to organize this day which includes group lessons with classmates, lunch together and then a free ski time in the afternoon.  It was pretty amazing to watch all of these grade-schoolers wrestle with their own ski gear, help and encourage each other no matter their skill level.

In the afternoon Henry and I headed out on our own.  This was probably a selfish move on my part – breaking away from the rest of the group – but I rarely get this sort of one-on-one time with my oldest son.  All too often I’ve found that Alex and I divide and conquer when it comes to the kids – he and Henry pair off and I take charge of the two little ones.  As a result, I’ve missed out on some fun adventures with Henry.  This time I was taking full advantage of our time together.

It was one of those days when you can’t stop talking about how beautiful everything looks.  The sun was shining, Mt. Rainier was out in all her glory, there was corduroy everywhere you looked and I was skiing with my son.  All over the darn mountain mind you.  He took me through the trees, down a black diamond and even into some powder.

He also cracked me up.  Multiple times.  Henry is a mixture of all things big and bold and bright in this life.  He is loud, funny, stubborn yet compassionate, and has more energy than any other person I have ever met.  He is also the only person I know who literally talks from the top of a run all the way down to the bottom.  I have no idea what he was saying, but he talked the entire time.  Funny boy. 

At one point in our afternoon, after getting off the chairlift, Henry turns to me and announces: Mom, I’m so embarrassed!  I can’t believe you didn’t ask the man we rode up with where he was from!  If you know Alex, or Pop-pop, both of whom Henry skis with often, then you also know that you always engage in some sort of conversation with the other people you are riding up with on the chairlift.

Heading back up the chair again, Henry elbows me whispering ask him where he is from! nodding towards the man sitting next to me.  I did, and we had a great conversation.

Sweet boy.

One thought on “Speaking of snow days…

  1. i laughed at the line about asking the people on the chairlift where they are from…because you KNOW that Bob Hall ALWAYS talks to the fellow chair-lifters:)

Leave a Reply

