Go ahead and call it rabbit food.

You won’t offend me one bit.

We have two new favorites around here and we’re hooked.

The first can be either a snack or a veggie side-dish.

Kale Chips.

The boys love them.  As in Henry begs; can we please, please, make some kale chips today mom?

No joke.

via

We use the recipe from smitten kitchen.  {side-note, am I the only one who goes to that site to just look at her beautiful pictures of food?}

Baked Kale Chips
1 bunch kale
1 tablespoon olive oil
Sea salt, to taste

Preheat oven to 300°F. Rinse and dry the kale, then remove the stems and tough center ribs. Cut into large pieces, toss with olive oil in a bowl then sprinkle with salt. Arrange leaves in a single layer on a large baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until crisp.  *crisp is key*.

Perhaps this is the perfect example of how a little oil and salt can make anything tasty.

Our second favorite is a salad that I made up out of desperation.  {Anyone else do that, oh shoot!  It’s five ‘o clock!  What are we going to have for dinner?! scramble?}  Anyhow, using what we had in the fridge/pantry I stumbled upon a salad that Alex and I could eat every night.  And we do.

I also happen to think it’s pretty.  Yes, this is important when it comes to food.

It doesn’t have a name, but let’s call it the *Quinoa, arugula, feta and pomegranate salad* for short OK?

In a salad bowl add:
2.5 Ounces of arugula {that’s half of one of those small pre-washed, boxed salads}
Crumbled feta, about 1/3 cup
2 ounces pomegranate seeds {Alex got all thrifty on me and seeded them himself…who knew?}
1/4 quinoa cooked according to package directions {we add straight from the stove to the greens}
Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.
Serves 2

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Go ahead and call it rabbit food.

  1. We’ve loved every time I’ve made kale chips too, but I had totally forgot about them in this “eat better in 2012” phase we are in! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Libby!!
    I just bought kale today for a bean, kale, sausage soup that I’m going to try to make this week and I literally thought to myself “I need to learn to make kale chips.” This is perfect! I will try it with the leftover kale! And yes, I totally go to smitten kitchen just to drool over her pics. You would also probably love http://www.101cookbooks.com. I have two of her cookbooks and it’s healthy stuff but quite good (her chanterelle tacos are killer!).
    I’ll have to try your salad too…I love quinoa in a salad! And arugula. Yum!
    p.s. We are pregnant with #3 and just found out it’s a boy!! Sorry I’ve been so out of touch! I’m always here reading your blog though.
    Hugs,
    Alison

  3. Made your salad on Sunday and LOVED it! It will become a staple (at least while pomegranates are in season!). Now onto the Kale chips – :) – thanks, Lib!

Leave a Reply

