A laundry list of sorts…

Cue the Halleluia chorus.

I was just getting used to dropping off our wet laundry at Nana’s.  That is of course after it would spend all day sliding around in the back of my car, waiting for me to remember to drop it off…

Then there was the whole set-up and delivery process.  I’m not the biggest fan of change, yes even when *change* means a new washer and dryer.  When the delivery guys carefully brought in the new set they were on pedestals which sort of made the machines look huge and well, this isn’t command central, it’s just my laundry room.  Naturally, I break into a sweat.  Should I ask them to remove the pedestals?  Heck, I don’t need them, think of how much we could save if we don’t have them.  Can they even take them back?  So I do things like call Alex and have him leave a meeting so he can look at the photos I’ve texted him.  Pedestal or no pedestal?!

He tells me either way, what do I want?  This is no good.  I need answers, not questions tossed back at me.  Thankfully Andrea showed up, and told me to ditch the pedestals. Whew.

To celebrate my big decision-making we made these pumpkin spice lattes.

via

They are my new favorite way to drink coffee.  And yes, in a pinch vanilla ice cream works as a whipped cream substitute.

School pictures.

I’m not sure if anything will ever beat last years picture, but these make my heart sing for many other reasons.

How did he grow up so fast?

I’ve long been aware that God is at work in me, transforming my heart, my responses and my focus in this life.  What I was not aware of was how, and in what areas of life He would stretch and challenge me.  Let’s just say He’s made it pretty clear He is going to use parenting our children as a way for me to grow closer to Him.  Which yes, sounds obvious but boy have I been stretched as we focus on correcting Henry’s behavior at school and at home.  {Nothing alarming, just your simple, rule-bending disobedience we hope to nip in the bud.}  For the most part we are seeing improvement, which we expect really, but this child happens to excel at pushing the limits.  All of them.  His baffled mother happens to be a lifetime member of the rule-follower club.  Go figure.

perfectly normal after-dinner entertainment…yes, they jump.  While yelling; cannonball!

It’s taken me a while to fully grasp this aspect of parenting.  To embrace the moments when He uses my children to teach me, moments when I’m humbled to the core.  I can’t tell you how many times I remind myself that this life isn’t about me anymore.  He has his work cut out for Him.  Thank goodness He is the king of the Universe.

Let’s see, any other parenting highlights to share?   Oh yes, William is trying to potty train himself and I am doing my best to stop him.  I’m pretty sure his interest in go potty mommy! stems from Charlie’s success.  {yes, success!}  William is right there with his big brother for each trip to the commode cheering him on; good boy Charlie!  flush, Charlie, flush!  high-five! 

I know, I know, just break out the big-boy undies and call it a day…but it’s all going so fast, he just turned two, he no longer sleeps in a crib and this mama can only handle so much.  Oh yeah, and we started him on a gluten-free diet.  {not sure what that has to do with it, but I’m trying to plead my case here…}  So just give me a second to catch my breath.  Maybe after Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving.  Even in the midst of all this chaos I know without a doubt we have so much to be thankful for.  I can’t wait to celebrate and give thanks with our family, to enjoy a long weekend filled with slow days.  Days just spent just hanging around.  Together.  There are not enough of these days, so we will do our best to soak them up.

I’ll leave you with some words of thanksgiving from Ann Voscamp:

No one receives the peace of God without giving thanks to God.

Thankfulness is the deep, contented breath of Peacefulness.

To bring the sacrifice of thanksgiving means to sacrifice your understanding of what is beneficial and thank God for everything because He is benevolent.

A sacrifice of thanks lays down our perspective and raises hands in praise anyways – always.

A sacrifice is by definition not an easy thing.

There is this: We give thanks to God not because of how we feel – but because of Who He is.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “A laundry list of sorts…

  1. Oh my word…….those school pictures are charming! Henry is getting sooooo tall and Charlie, looks so grown up! Wow! I was amazed!!!

    And oh, what fun they must have jumping onto the couch!!!
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  2. I LOVE the school pictures, the boys are so grown up!!!! Happy Thanksgiving, SO glad we aren’t the only ones jumping from the couch! :) parenting takes you to your knees constantly, I’d love to tell you it gets easier, I have one in the “preteen” years – YIKES! XO

Leave a Reply

