Thankful for the truth.

The End of Down Syndrome

A controversial new test means disorder will become extinct from ‘eugenics,’ doctors say.

A new, simple way to detect Down syndrome in a fetus means the condition will be virtually extinct — but not without a great deal of controversy, experts say.

Last month, San Diego-based Sequenom released a test that allows doctors to screen for the most prevalent type of Down syndrome with only a blood test from the mother. The screening is available in 20 cities and is expected to hit New York soon. Two other companies have plans to release similar tests next year.

“What you end up having is a world without people with Down syndrome,” says Paul Root Wolpe, director of the center for ethics at Emory University. “And the question becomes is that a good thing or bad thing?”

I read articles like this and I wonder…

Will words like that always leave me breathless, as though I’ve been punched in the gut?

Then I remember the truth.

I can’t imagine my life without Charlie. 

And in the last few weeks I’ve shared stories written by family and friends who feel the same way.

We can’t imagine life without Charlie.

Charlie, our second son, a grandson, a great-grandson, a brother, a student, a cousin, a nephew, a neighbor, a friend, a little boy, who yes, has Down syndrome.  If I could, I’d love nothing more than to share those personal stories with a woman who has just received a prenatal diagnosis for Down syndrome.

I am so thankful that we get to both live out and share this truth.

5 thoughts on “Thankful for the truth.

  1. 92% who know ahead of time abort. That is sickening. :*( I’ve loved all the letters your friends and family have written about Charlie. He is so loved and has made the world a better place.

  2. when they released the test, the company made the market watch…what does that say about society??? I’m with you, takes your breath away. I’m thankful for the truth too! XO you and yours this Thanksgiving!

  3. You know, I too, can’t imagine our lives without JEB. GOD chose us to be his parents and to love him and to raise him. Who am I to say that I need to change his DNA?? It’s not up to me. I’m so thankful for GOD choosing us to have him…….

    Have a great Thanksgiving!!

  4. Hi Libby, Your motherly love, as told with your heart, could make such a difference to a woman who has just been given a difficult test result regarding their baby. I encourage you to contact your nearest Pregnancy Resource Center and offer to be “on-call” support person for women who are indecisive about whether or not to “terminate” their baby. Also, you can let you local ob-gyns now that you are available as an encouraging resource to any of their pregnant patients, so that they may see life and love beyond the “diagnosis”. Your perspective and journey are so very valuable to the lives and survival of many. I’m involved in the 40 Days for Life ministry and this afternoon, a beautiful baby boy was born~ we met his mom back in April at the Sidewalk in front of one of our local abortion businesses. She had just received a 3-Day eviction notice on her apartment, couldn’t pay the rent, was scared, had no where to turn, already had two children, felt hopeless and desperate, thinking abortion was her only option, but by the Grace of God, we were able to get her the help she needed, along with faith, hope, and love. It was such a gift, such a blessing, to see mom holding her baby in the delivery room today! So much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving, with love, one of your fans in Sacramento, wynette

  5. I wish that more stories told the story in a more accurate way: this test will not stop DS from happening. It will just let parents find out earlier in the pregnancy, when it’s easier for the medical community to convince them that they’re not aborting a baby, but a fetus that has issues, instead of showing them how amazing their baby will be. No, it’s not an easy path to walk. But it’s never easy with any kiddo, no matter their chromosome count. I can’t imagine my life without Ainsley; but by the same token, I can’t imagine my life without Gavin or Skylar, either.

Leave a Reply

