A gift of spirit and light.

Call it what you will, but there is no doubt that there is something special about Charlie.  And the amazing thing is, everyone can’t help but see it.

From Uncle Jimmy:

Someday, and I really hope it’s all the time, I know I’m going to get a phone call from Charlie, and it’s going to melt my heart.  There’s a special spirit inside my second nephew.  There’s a wonder living inside his eyes, and I want to know all about it.  I met him two weeks after he was born, and I remember carrying him in my arms around my parents house, introducing myself to him.  He was the littlest thing on Earth.  I told him that while he was growing up, he could always count on me.  I told him as long as he was around, I’d be his uncle, and the only thing I’d ever ask of him was that he’d promise someday he’d share the world he sees with me.

From Gigi:

I remember standing silently out in the hall at Memorial waiting to go into the room where Charlie had just been born. I was in shock. Only family was being allowed into the room at that time. We had been told the dreaded words,” Down’s Syndrome”, and there are no words to say at that point. It was an unknown future ahead for the ones we loved almost more than life itself. The unknown is staggering. I think I was sending ” light”ahead of me to all in that room who were struggling with this unknown future, but I’m not sure. Finally the nurse came out and opened the door for us.

 Charlie lay on a table for all the world to see, a tiny bare babe, arms flung open to the world that had just received him, naked and quiet. I couldn’t take my eyes off of him. I heard sniffles in the room and turned around. Alex looked stunned. Ken’s loving eyes smiled at me. Marlyn stood quietly sobbing, and Libby, dear Libby, smiled at us through her tears. Kathy and I sat down, wanting to say something helpful, but I don’t remember what we said. We stayed a few minutes then got up to walk out, heavy with despair.

I stood over Charlie a few seconds before we left, and I became aware of the great light surrounding him. It took my breath away and I said, “Ohl He’s so-o-o beautiful!” I felt at that moment that Charlie is a great being come to teach us all how to love, to love in a more extended way, not with the usual family and friends kind of love, but as an extension of God’s universal love into the world. Charlie is a great light for us all. Thank you, Charlie, for sharing your beingness us with us. I love you.

One thought on “A gift of spirit and light.

Leave a Reply

