It’s Thursday already?

Writing about faith can be exhausting.  For me there’s lots of praying and worrying involved.  Concern that I’m sharing His truth properly, especially when I’m barely scratching the surface myself.  However, I do find rest in knowing that He will take and mold my words and use them for good.

Sharing pictures of my children, recipes, even my shoes seems easier. Safer.  Yet the deeper I dive into my relationship with Jesus, the more I realize that even those simple everyday words and pictures tell His story too.  You just have to look and read between the lines.

So let’s hear about the children shall we?  Oh, and I even have a recipe to share.  Pumpkin spice muffins, {with cream cheese frosting if you like to live dangerously}.  Originally the recipe was for pumpkin spice bread, but I seem to have this problem with leaving any sort of recipe alone.  I must play around with the ingredients and make it my own.  {see recipe below it’s a goodie.}

Which brings me to Thursday.  How did we get here so fast?  It has been one of those blessedly calm weeks and to add to its perfection the days have offered up the best fall weather has to give.

I’m savoring my mornings with William.  He is a delight.  He is happy, yet he throws a mean temper tantrum.  He talks non-stop in his little pip-squeak voice.  Non-stop.  And it is the cutest darn thing you have ever heard.

This week he discovered how to climb out of his crib.  One night while I was reading bedtime stories to Henry, William, who had already been tucked in walked into Henry’s room.  Hi mommy!  Hi Ree-Ree!  Henry and I dissolved into giggles over little Woo-woo’s escapades {don’t we have the most creative nick-names?} while William climbed up into the second twin bed proclaiming night-night!  Knowing this wouldn’t last long, I played along, tucking them both in and waited for William to run out of the room.

Five minutes later both boys were sound asleep and ever since William has slept in his new big-boy bed.  Even for naps.  Which means that our crib now sits empty and I’m having all sorts of emotional feelings about that.

And while this new sleeping arrangement seems to be working, it is different from what I imagined.  We had hoped to have Henry and Charlie share a room, but after a few weeks of trying Charlie made it clear that wasn’t going to work.  I know that I should be celebrating our Henry/William combo success, but there is this little nagging feeling I have about *Charlie* being the one left out…

Henry seems to be doing a nice job of escaping my camera these days.  I know that its partly his age, but another problem is that he is away at school all day.  It’s funny really, how we rush them off to school only to discover how much we miss them.  Part of me jokes that I’m going to pull him out and home school so that we can be together as a family.  Seriously.  I feel good about his school setting, but part of me wants to have a family adventure year.  This time of little ones is passing in what seems like a blink of an eye and I’m prepared to do my best to slow it down.  Has anyone done this, a year or two of regular school, a year or two of homeschooling and then back to regular school?

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

1 cup 100% pure pumpkin

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground cloves

3/4 cup water

1 1/2 cup dark brown sugar {this is already less than what the original recipe calls for…}

1/4 cup canola oil

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup ground flax-seed

{I like my baked goods with a crunchy-granola taste, hence the whole wheat flour and flax-seed}

Heat oven to 350 degrees

Heat pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves in a small sauce pan over medium heat until steamy.  Stirring continuously, cook until pumpkin is stiff, about 3 minutes.  Transfer to a medium bowl; whisk in 3/4 cup water, then brown sugar, then oil, then eggs until smooth.

In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining dry ingredients, then fold into the pumpkin mixture until just combined.  Scrape batter into greased muffin pan {or loaf pan}.  Bake for 17-20 minutes, until firm and golden brown.  Let stand for a few minutes.  Cool on a wire rack. Makes 12 muffins.

This recipe doubles easily.  For a real treat make this cream cheese frosting to go on top. {the frosting recipe will easily give you enough for 24 muffins.}

Hmm…sorry I don’t seem to have a picture of the end result.  I can say however, that the batter is yummy.  William will also confirm this.

3 thoughts on “It’s Thursday already?

  1. looks yummy… :)

    For another pumpkin muffin recipe, try this one: Mix one box of spice cake with a can of pumpkin. Mix well, drop into muffin tin and bake according to cake mix directions…

    I love your blog!

  2. Hi Libby! I found your blog a while ago and it is so neat to read about you and your family. Crazy how we grow up, huh? My oldest is in 1st grade, and I have been thinking the EXACT same thing. Even researching homeschool curriculum. I miss him while he is gone! Who knows what God has in store? Blessing to you and your family!

    Katie Schefter Sheron

  3. I know several people who have done a combination of homeschool and traditional school. One family pulled all of their kids out for 1 year so they could sail around the world! We’ve always said we’re going to take it 1 year at a time, deciding what is best for our family. So far I’m loving homeschooling. It’s fun for both of us, and I feel like I can give Micah so much more time to just be a kid … doing what he wants to do, playing outside when the weather is nice … because we can get our “school” done in a short amount of time, or “on the fly,” like practicing spelling words in the car or thinking up homonyms in the grocery store! I’d love to talk about it with you sometime. :) Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

