I’ve been meaning to post this.

My favorite baby picture of Charlie…

I like to write, my love for words runs deep.  I use words to sort out my feelings no matter if they are dark and scary or filled with the goodness and grace of this life.  Always my opinion shines through – on the day to day aspects of life to the more heavy subjects.

Sometimes the reality of this great big world takes my breath away.

Sometimes adding more words just isn’t necessary.

Andi’s words speak volumes:

Some days I just feel like beating my head against the wall. Today is one of those days.

I am pro-life, but I don’t protest outside abortion clinics. I don’t screech at my pro-choice friends and acquaintances about the evils of abortion. I don’t quote Bible verses and howl about impending judgment. Instead, I choose to engage in productive dialog so that others may understand my point of view. Some days, though, it doesn’t seem like I’m getting anywhere.

Anyone who’s been paying attention knows that babies prenatally diagnosed with Down syndrome are routinely aborted (though, based on my personal experience, few people realize how large the percentage actually is). Some people believe abortion is medically and/or socially appropriate in these cases, while others vehemently disagree (can you see me waving both hands wildly in the air?) But what about other conditions that are diagnosed in utero? Should all undesirable medical diagnoses be fair game for abortion?

Last week, the government released statistics in the United Kingdom on the number of abortions performed during 2010.  Of the 2,290 abortions performed for a medical problem, 482 were due to a diagnosis of Down syndrome (heartbreaking, but no surprise).  The more shocking statistic (at least to me) is that 188 of those aborted were due to musculoskeletal issues (e.g., club foot) or cleft lip/palate, and some of those occurred after 24 weeks gestation. I felt physically ill when I read the article, much as I did when I first learned, just a few days after Nathan was born, that approximately 90% of babies diagnosed with Down syndrome in utero are aborted.

Should the world have been spared the “burden” of individuals like Damon Wayans, Kristi Yamaguchi, Mia Hamm, and Troy Aikman? All were born with club foot. Do Peyton Manning and Joaquin Phoenix have a tragically low quality of life? Both were born with cleft lip/palate.

You might wonder why I’m interrupting all of our summer goodness to share a message like this.  This blog is a sort of family journal and since I’m openly sharing our story with the world it’s even more important for me to chronicle all that is important to our family; the goodness of this life, the harsh realities and everything in between.  It’s important that I leave this documented legacy for my children, because we often don’t agree with many of the popular positions of our time.  Instead we choose to walk a more narrow path and while that path may be narrow, it is paved with freedom.

9 thoughts on “I’ve been meaning to post this.

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE this post. What a tragedy it is to deny the world of some of its most amazing individuals just because they are a bit ‘different’. My life has been undeniably changed by my Jacob – for the GOOD. I’m so glad he is in our lives, and so sad for the others who chose to miss out on such an opportunity.

  2. I just found you today when you linked to my post. Thank you for sharing it with your readers, but more importantly, thank you for sharing your story with the world. I will add you to my reader and visit often.

  3. This just breaks my heart. I was just talking to my sister the other day about something similar. She is nearing the end of her second pregnancy and we were talking about ultrasounds. She said that her clinic makes you have your 20 week u/s prior to 20 weeks, because if something is found at the appt it can be more expensive to get an abortion after 20 weeks. They mentioned that they recently had a situation where a baby was found at 20 weeks to have a heart defect. The lady had an abortion at 21 weeks, and she was mad because the abortion cost more. Now I know this is all second hand information and we don’t know the situation (what the defect was, but the comment was made that the abortion cost more than fixing the heart would have), but having been through OHS, and seeing how little that event affected Claire….ugh, just hurts my heart.

  4. One way that the Christian community can put feet on the Pro-life message is to adopt these little ones. We weren’t on the special needs adoption list, but God had other plans and we adopted little Knox who has DS. He is such a blessing to us and to our church. What a tragedy of human history that we see these little ones as imperfect and a burden.

  5. truly a tragedy.

    And this picture of Charlie??? Oh my word!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! I could just eat him up!!! He and JEB would be such fast friends, I’m sure of it!!

  6. Wow … no matter what the differences, these little ones all have such gifts to share … all you have to do is look at that precious picture of Charlie to see it!

  7. Thank you so much for posting this. I had no idea of these statistics. I have a half sister with a cleft palate, and I will never know her because my dad gave her up for adoption. I simply can’t find any information about her…Whats most shocking to me, though, are the abortions due to club foot. Troy Aikman is such an inspirational individual – he has achieved greatness in so many ways; and is one of many that beat being born with a club foot. It never occurred to me one would want to abort their child over this condition. It certainly reflects poorly on our species as a whole.

Leave a Reply

