Finding contentment.

I don’t know why it takes me so long to figure it out.

How to be content.

To just *be.*

To not always be thinking about *what’s next*.

{From my garden…peonies are my favorite and I cut bunches like this for an entire month.  It’s dumb gardening luck as they are by far the most neglected plants in our yard.}

To enjoy all that we have.  Right now.

To focus on the good, not all the ways it could be better.

I’ve always known we have been blessed beyond measure.

Yet I get antsy.  Change this, move that. You get the idea.

I think we all have some sort of *yearning* in our lives…in all different areas.  I especially do this with our house.

Maybe its because I truly live out my life – almost every hour of the day – at home.  Each and every stage of life has, does and will take place in our home.  It’s where we dream, plan, find comfort, encourage, welcome others and *live.*

This probably all sounds very silly.  It might not make a lick of sense.

Yes, I realize we’re not supposed to cling the material things of this earth.

I get that.

I noticed the change in my heart was gradual.  Yet it took years, months, weeks.

To realize I’m content.

I love the quirky little things that make this house our home.

The paint chipping, worn areas on the wood floor.

A well-worn kitchen table and chairs.

A living room filled with furniture meant for *living.*

These things, they are all signs of a life moving at full speed.

Signs of a family, living and embracing this life together.

A place to call home for the people I love most.

I think it looks like love.

I drafted this post weeks ago and have been hesitant to post it.  Perhaps I’m hesitant to share such a silly struggle along with such open windows into our home.  The tipping point, which made me press the *publish* button occurred this week.  I’ve caught myself giving Henry the very same lecture over and over.  Repeating over and over the importance of having a grateful heart, a thankful heart, and embracing the true joy that can only come from living in the moment. 

Sometimes the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.  Perhaps the tree needs to check herself. 

4 thoughts on “Finding contentment.

  1. It’s funny how each time I read your post, I discover how much alike we are/think/feel about particular things. The never being satisfied, our beliefs, the whole “Summer slow down” thing…wow, I could have written that post for sure!

    Love your blog, your family, and your writings. God bless you!

  2. I love that you shared this – I’ve been really struggling with this lately and have often thought of you. “How does Libby enjoy her time at home all day, encouraging being content with being at home and brothers playing together”….you wrote something to that affect last month. Good to know it doesn’t come so naturally to you either. I’d love to hear ideas of what your boys do all day at home! I think it’s a little tough at this point because Nate still isn’t able to play with Cody all that much…seeing it change ever so slightly, but oh so slowly!

  3. that was a perfect post, Libby. I am and always have been one of those people who love school….the whole experience, all of the activity, the social aspects of it, all of it…..guess that’s why GOD called me to be a teacher! BUT when it’s summertime, I’m bored stiff. I so needed to hear what you wrote and posted……GOD knew that. I love hearing what’s on your mind and what the boys are doing today, and that you are simply enjoying your house/yard.

    And oh, those beautiful peonies brought back my childhood, and my grandma’s yard with many, many peony bushes. We would use most of them to fill milk cartons on Memorial Day and take them to the cemetary to put on family member’s gravesites. But what was left, we would fill the house along with the lilacs from the back of the yard. Seeing them brought back so many good memories!!!

  4. Thank you for this post. I can totally relate. Like you, I’m learning day by day to appreciate those things that aren’t perfect, but just part of life and to be content with the blessings we’ve been given. I love reading your blog and seeing your boys grow – I can totally relate as I have 4 and 6 year old boys. I learned a couple of weeks ago that we’re expecting our 3rd boy so I’ll probably tune into your blog even more often. Keep up the great work good and faithful servant.

Leave a Reply

