Signs of a good week and a challenge.

An evening walk with kiddos who are already bathed and jammied.

Our vegetable garden.  We’re giving seeds a chance this year, however the dog seems to think the garden dirt is for digging.  Nope, still haven’t been to Supercuts.

Musical furniture and patient friends.  Yes, I’ve already moved it again.

Cutie pie.

Brothers.

A coffee date.

Two dog trainers.

The peace of lunchtime and my favorite sandwich.  Not pictured:  the big Costco sized bag of kettle chips off to the side.

Also not pictured:  One red-hot angry mama yelling at her puppy who had yet another accident.  On the furniture.  Or one impatient mom speaking harshly to children who don’t follow directions or are taking their sweet time to get out the door and into the car.  Sigh.  To top it off I’ve also read countless Mother’s Day tributes this week; women praising their dear mothers – sweet angelic women who never, ever, dared to yell or raise their voices at their children or puppy.  Is this realistic?  I wonder…are these women taking Valium or are they really able to parent their darling offspring without ever speaking a harsh word?  Can I?

Now before I you think I’m that *crazy yelling mom* let me give myself a little bit of credit…while I can lose it with the best of them, most of the time I’m pretty darn laid-back.   However, these actions of mine – they are quickly becoming a habit – a bad habit.  Perhaps the result of lazy parenting?  Let’s face it, yelling and stomping is the easy way out.  The good news is habits can be broken.  We can start fresh, teaching ourselves a new skill; weaving a new trait into the fabric of our daily lives.

As further inspiration I’m reminded of my plan for a fresh start in the new year….in January I wrote:

I want to choose words that only make souls stronger.

To carefully choose each and every word I speak to my children, my husband, my family and friends.  

Choosing words that only make souls stronger.

Ann Voskamp writes a bit about why our words, especially as mothers matter most:

All the words I had ever spoken, they are making my children who they are.  What we speak into others, this is what they become.

So mid-year I’ve decided it’s time to reassess and offer myself a challenge – yet again.  To choose words that only make souls stronger. 

I’m taking this challenge day by day.  {Minute by minute?}

One thought on “Signs of a good week and a challenge.

Leave a Reply

