Today is Tuesday

Oh yes, we’re going to cover all sorts of important information here today…starting off with identifying the day of the week.  I’m running one day ahead this week and today feels like Wednesday, but it’s Tuesday.

It’s official.  Henry is playing little league baseball.  It’s our first forray into organized sports which means we’re having to adjust our evening expectations and try things out on the fly.  We’re a sit down to dinner all together every single night sort of family so when you throw in a couple of practices and a handful of games into the mix it gets crazy fast.  Add to that a meeting or two and next thing you know I’m texting baby-sitters at 9 o’clock at night to see if they can come over the next day.

I realize we aren’t the first family to participate in sports, but I’m working hard to balance things as we figure out our groove.  That said, I finally came to my senses and excused myself from my two evening meetings this week.  And last night I was right where I should have been…freezing to death, watching Henry go 2 for 2 at bat, play catcher for three innings and cheer his team on to a 10-0 victory.  Charlie and William were thrilled to run through every little dirt patch they could find and pick up every stray piece of litter.  Of course Nana was there – this was as good as it gets for her – watching her grandson play baseball...well that’s just the best.

between the guns and the flags, my boys were mesmerized by the color guard…

looks like someone’s not quite sold on baseball…yet…
random photo up-load…my favorite lunch…a smoothie…recipe at the bottom of the post…

Let’s rewind just a bit.  First I want to say thank you for your kind words of encouragement.  You guys are so darn funny, and have the best advice.  Needless to say we went into the weekend with a to-do list a mile long, but I also had plans on taking it easy.  Of course I plowed right through my to-do list and sank into the couch Sunday evening spent.  Sadly I need to learn how to relax and just let some things go.  Silly right?

Knowing I was struggling, a friend asked me if perhaps I was going through another grieving period.  That perhaps I will unknowingly be hit with these moments of grief – some obvious, and others camouflaged in fatigue – always.  I’ve wondered this myself.  If you were to ask me today on a scale of 1 to 10 the impact Down syndrome plays in our lives I’d give it an honest 2.  But maybe, just maybe it weighs heavier on my heart than I realize…or maybe this is just motherhood…and the journey of raising any child.

I don’t know.  Yet, again I’m reminded it’s not about me.

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28 – 33

I have no idea what they were doing, but they were giggling and having the best time…

A supplement up-date….After much thought, consideration and research {thank you for your input and suggestions} we’ve decided to stay the course and stick with our original decision to skip the supplement routine for Charlie.  I believe this was still a good process to go through – the writing, research and discussions with other parents – as it’s important to periodically take a another look at what options are available for our children.  I don’t ever want to stick my head in the sand, ignoring an opportunity but I’m also not going to go through life doubting myself and the decisions we have made for our children.

This process also vetted out some interesting themes as I connected with many parents.  I noticed one particular theme, which isn’t often discussed.  Since it’s a sticky subject I’ll simply speak from my point of view and let you fill in the blanks.

We believe that our son Charlie was fearfully and wonderfully made, designed from the very beginning to have an extra 21st chromosome.  We believe that our great Father has a plan for each one of his children – and while we might not always understand His design or plan, it exists.  This is not to say that we would deny our child medical care if they had cancer, or would choose to forgo a cast in the event of a broken bone.  But who am I to try to disprove the Creator of the Universe, going to great lengths to fight against the extra 21st chromosome he was designed to have?  God does not make mistakes.

My son has Down syndrome.  I am not ignorant about his condition nor are my expectations unrealistic.  I love him for all that he is – who he is.  I will go to the ends of the earth to ensure that Charlie is the best little Charlie that he can be.  But I will not ever try to change or deny who he was made to be.

*************************************

And that my friends is way deeper than I planned on diving today…on that note I’ll leave you with some pictures of Alex and Henry’s trip to Timbuctoo {spelling?} to visit a goat farm.

Yes, that’s the same red sweatshirt…I snuck it into the wash today…I have a feeling we’re going to be seeing lots of red this spring…

Oh yes, the smoothie recipe…

Smoothie for one:

1/2 banana

3 frozen strawberries

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

two handfuls of fresh spiniach, stems removed

1 tbs. ground flaxseed

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1/2 cup orange juice

I actually eye-ball all of the ingredients, but there are my best guesses…yummy!

8 thoughts on “Today is Tuesday

  1. Wow Libby, thank you. You’ve really made me think more about it now. I’ve been on the fence about it and not feeling too comfortable about diving in to supplements in the first place but after reading this, it really makes me feel more comfortable right where we are. So thank you!

  2. This is going to be a bit of a hodge podge comment as I’m getting caught up on weeks worth of posts…

    Supplements. I am with you. I just don’t know. I want to do what is best for Claire, but I’m just not sure the Ds specific supplements are the answer. Right now Claire is on probiotics and Vit D. These are easy to include and things I think she needs. But the others seem like too much. Too much stuff included with out research, too much money. I was talking to our PT (Pat Winders) about supplements after Claire had an amazing month developmentally. She didn’t really seem pro-supplements and commented that if Claire had been on something her amazing month would have been credited to the supps, instead of giving the credit where it was due, to Claire. Her feeling is that the research that is out there just doesn’t support the claims. But after all that, I can’t help but think…what if it does help?

    I hope all of the illnesses that have hit you are going away and that you feel better soon!

    The Jeremiah verse from your other post is a favorite of mine.

    And I can’t do it all either. I will never be one of those put together moms (like Kelle Hampton??). There are quite a few days that I’m happy just to get a shower. My house is as much of a mess I am and I’ve just gotten to the point where I’ve accepted I can’t keep up. Well, I probably could but that would mean no me time. No computer, blogs or books. And really it’s in everyone’s best interest that our house stays a mess than to take away off of my me time!

    sorry for the novel length comment. :)

  3. Wow – this post made me cry — TWICE.

    1st about just being weary and heavy laden (the Matthew 11 verses), and about possibly grieving again. I am SO exhausted. Sometimes I just feel like I absolutely can’t hold it together any longer. My kids are about the exact same ages as yours, Libby. Annie just turned 6, Kate (DS) will be 4 in May, and Wesley just turned 2. The two little ones, who seem like twins, keep me SO busy. Not to mention I’m homeschooling them all. Sometimes I just ask God, “How much more do You think I can handle?” And I feel guilty because I know that God is good, and it must be something that I’m doing wrong. And I know what you mean about the grieving thing. Usually I feel totally fine about DS, but then sometimes it just hits me again, and I feel…. sad… or probably just TIRED. I don’t know.

    So then as I was reading through this post, I wiped away my tears. And then I came to the part about the supplements, and I cried AGAIN when you spoke about how God does not make mistakes. I’ve said that phrase so many times when thinking about Kate. I get so bogged down with all her doctor and therapy appointments, and sometimes I just feel like, “Why do we need to FIX everything about her?!” She’s great just the way God made her. But of course I would never deny her medical treatment that she needs. It just seems like there are so many parts of her body that need to have some kind of assistance: ankle braces, glasses, pacemaker, ear tubes. Ugh. I can’t wait for the new heavens and the new earth where we will never need any of these things, and we will never be tired again! :) God is good, and He will get us through these things. I know that He is using them for our GOOD and His GLORY.

    This post really helped me. It was just what I needed to hear — so thank you!

  4. welcome to the world of baseball!!! get ready, and watch out, it can take over your life!!! 5 years later, playing little league, tournament baseball, and middle school baseball I can say they are some of the best moments of our lives. And the girls have learned to love the fields too, nothing better than playing with friends! I hear you about being weary…too much fatigue in our house too, amazing how that can make a “mountain out of a molehill!” “My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” Col 12:8-9 Blessings my friend!!

  5. Libby, we went through some of the same wrestlings about supplementing, and decided it didn’t have to be all or nothing, just like so much else in life. I give V. supplements when I can, and when I can’t, I don’t worry about it one snippet. God knows, and He can take my best and make it enough.

Leave a Reply

