Easy-peasy dinner, retreating and a giveaway.

Prepare yourselves, we have a lot of ground to cover.

I might as well use bullet points, otherwise we might get lost.

Ready…set...Goooooooo!!!  {That’s how Charlie likes to say it…}

::  Over the weekend our church hosted an out-of-town women’s retreat.   I’d never been and didn’t know what to expect.  Thinking safety in numbers, three girlfriends and I packed up, leaving our husbands in charge of the children.  We were armed with wine and Haagen Dazs ice cream which caused Alex to question both what kind of retreat we were headed to and what we were retreating from.

Back to the actual retreat.  I was nervous, worried that it would be cheesy.  That I would cry.

Goodness.  Now you know the truth.

Here’s the irony, I was worried about being uncomfortable yet my soul was parched.  I was desperate to drink in some fellowship, hear His voice and dive into the word.  I soaked up every minute, filling my soul and spirit to overflowing.  And yes, I did the ugly cry {that’s what Andrea calls it.}  I cried, I prayed and He met me there.  I left refreshed and invigorated.  Do you remember that feeling?

::  A shoe up-date.  I didn’t mean to keep you on the edge of your seat.  We are still trying to follow our spending freeze, and by *we* I pretty much mean Alex.  I made it two months and caved big time.  In my defense, let me remind you that I’ve been pregnant or nursing a child since 2004.  It’s 2011 which means my wardrobe could use some up-dating.  I didn’t order the j crew shoes after all.  I like them but didn’t like the price.  I’ve been eyeing these, but they are out of my size.  High-five to the other sister out there with a size-11 foot and great taste.

Not to be deterred, I ordered these in nude.  The color, not in the nude…

I love them.  They are totally unrealistic, but I’ve longed for a big-girl pair of shoes for some time and couldn’t beat the price.  $34.99.  And yes, the heel is ridiculous.  I’m six-feet tall with them on.  So, yes I’m still in the market for an *everyday* shoe…

:: Have you read this book?

Always True, by James McDonald is a wonderful book in which we are reminded of God’s promises in the midst of life’s storms.  Want to know a secret?  I had this book on my nightstand for a while.  And get this…I wasn’t eager to read it because I didn’t think it was applicable to my life right now.  After all, I’ve waded through the wilderness before and survived.  I only needed to read the table of contents to know that this book was more than applicable to my life, right now.

From the table of contents:

Promise #1:  God is always with me.  {I will not fear.}  Promise #2:  God is always in control.  {I will not doubt.}  Promise #3:  God is always in control.  {I will not despair.}  Promise #4:  God is always watching.  {I will not falter.}  Promise #5:  God is always victorious.  {I will not fail.}

Curious?  Want to read more?  The publisher was generous enough to send me two copies and I’d love to giveaway one copy to a reader who leaves a comment here.  Or a reader who *likes* Blessings and Glory on Facebook.  I’ll announce the winner later this week.

:: Today I made dinner for my family in five minutes.  I timed myself.  Even with a *helper.*

And the best part?  Everyone ate it.  And liked it.  Score.

Chicken tortilla soup.  It’s healthy, with veggies, black beans, shredded chicken and it’s diary free!  {If you don’t add the sour cream and cheese at the end.}  And the spices were satisfying enough for the adults and not too *spicy* for the little ones.

Here’s the recipe:

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:
2 frozen chicken breasts
1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (10 ounce) can enchilada sauce
1 medium onion, chopped
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile
peppers {mild for the littles}
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (32 ounce) container chicken broth
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 (10 ounce) package frozen corn
1 can black beans rinsed and drained
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
Directions:
1. Place everything into a slow-cooker.  Stir.  Cover, and cook on High setting for 5 hours.  One half hour before serving remove chicken from soup and using two forks shred.  Put chicken back into soup and stir.  Let cook for remaining time.
 

2.  Top soup with sour cream, shredded cheese, tortilla chips, avocado slices, chopped cilantro and lime wedges.

Enjoy!

Whew, we did it.  I’m off to bed.  Well, after some ice cream.  And a brownie.

14 thoughts on “Easy-peasy dinner, retreating and a giveaway.

  1. You’re boys are so adorable. The soup looks yummy, I will definitely try the recipe. The book sounds like something I need to read. So there, from reading your post I could feed my body, mind and soul!

  2. My family absolutely loves tortilla soup – even my little one with DS who would live on pizza and pasta alone if I let her. Oddly enough, my kids even love it spicy. They certainly didn’t get that from me.

  3. Also, an addendum to by previous post. I absolutely love your blog. I recommend it to all the new moms of babies with ds that I come into contact with, especially to those who are in the “grieving stage”. You do such a great job of demonstrating how “normal” or should I say “typical” life truley is even when shared with a child with down syndrome. Thank you!!

  4. I made your soup yesterday and we couldn’t stop raving about it! Charlotte LOVED it. Thank you, and don’t be surprised if your recipe shows up on my cooking blog! :)

  5. Thanks Libby – I’m off to a women’s retreat next month and can’t wait!!! I need my soul refilled!

    I’d love to read the book, so count me in for the drawing!

    Let’s finish planning our meet-up in Seattle!
    Take care,
    Danielle

  6. I have the opposite problem – my feet are as wide as yours are long! Glad to hear your doing your online shopping clothed :) Can’t wait to see you and the boys soon!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

