Here we are together.

Your life will be measured, not by the amount of money or power or fame you gain, but by the way you allow God to touch others through you.

-Ruth McGinnis

Sometimes I get stuck.

My attention is distracted by things like window treatments {yes, still.}  I dream of the future and miss the moment right in front of me.

I cruise through one best-selling book after another while my bible collects dust on my nightstand.

Here we are together, together, together.  Here we are together, so happy are we!  There’s Grandma, there’s Jim, there’s Christy, there’s Diana…

We sing this song, while circled around the kitchen holding hands before dinner.

We gathered last weekend at my parents house for three days chalk full o’ family.  We still aren’t sure how the September and October birthdays are able to pull-off a big birthday bash year after year but no one really complains – we are always happy to have a reason to gather in celebration.

We talked.  About sad things.  Joyful things.  The past.  The future.  And of course how thankful we are for family.

We laughed. A lot. We always do.  We are hilarious.

We drank wine and ate delicious food.  We are good at that.

Our time together always seems to shift things back into perspective for me.  Spending time with my family reminds me of the value and purpose of my life.

That my success as a wife, mother, daughter, sister, granddaughter, niece, cousin or friend will not be measured by the ruler or standards of this world.

While together we are focused.  Encouraging and challenging each other.  Soaking up the gifts and value each person brings to the group.  After three days I’m exhausted yes, but I’m fulfilled and content.  There is no doubt that the Lord has been at work.

Suddenly window treatments aren’t such a priority.  {Though we are human, of course all of the girls compliment and take notes on where to buy that darn cute sweater or jeans.}

Family as a constant in our lives is a gift.  It is not something I take for granted.

Together we are blessed.

8 thoughts on “Here we are together.

  1. Beautiful Libby!!!! I am soooo happy for you and your family — such harmony and love comes from those pictures and your telling. Hugs!

  2. Awww Lib! You put it so beautifully. What a wonderful weekend spent together. Your post lets me relive it all over again and just like that, everything is placed back into perspective. I love you, miss you!

Leave a Reply

