Taking one for the team.

The kids were exceptionally whiny today.  All three of them.  I kid you not, if one wasn’t crying, then another one was.  As far as I was concerned nap time couldn’t happen soon enough.  But alas, they did eventually wake up and the circus started again.  I knew that unless they had my full attention {no laundry, computer, or cleaning allowed} then no son of mine would be happy.

Naturally we made cookies.

Nevermind that Alex is trying to be “good” for the new year and I would be left to eat the 5 dozen cookies myself.  I decided to take one for the team in hopes of a little peace.  Out came the chocolate chips, brown sugar, eggs and this time – to mix things up a bit – coconut.  And let me tell you; it was worth it.

William happily observed {Charlie had finally fallen asleep.} As I carefully measured out the ingredients and Henry poured them into the mixing bowl I realized something.  Without fail, when I’m trying to make the kids follow my agenda things tend to fall apart.  Computer time, talking on the phone, cleaning – really trying to get anything done that doesn’t directly involve them.  I realize that I can’t always actively engage them in some fascinating activity.  That just isn’t realistic, it’s not my parenting style, nor would I ever get anything done.  The thing is, when I’m intentional – when I bake cookies, play a board game with Henry, read a book to Charlie, lay on the floor to sing and coo with William – it works like magic.  They feel loved, appreciated and know that they are important and special to me.  And I kid you not – Henry will then happily play either by himself or with Charlie, Charlie is content to sort through his toys and books and William will either be sleeping {satisfied from his playtime with mom} or is happy enough to make do in the bouncy seat.

I just wish I would remember this before the grumbling begins.  Oh well, I still have plenty of cookies to eat.

Oatmeal Cookies

1 cup butter, room temperature
2 cups brown sugar
2 large eggs
3-4 tbsp of milk
2 tsp vanilla
1 3/4 cup flour
1 tsp salt
2 1/2 – 3 cups oats
About 2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup sweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 325. Grease baking sheet/ parchment paper. Cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time, followed by milk and vanilla extract. Gradually beat the flour into the sugar mixture, add salt. Stir in oats, coconut and chocolate chips. Bake at 325 degrees for about 12 minutes.  Makes about 5 dozen.

recipe from domestic reflections
4 thoughts on “Taking one for the team.

  1. Okay, this is so funny…I have a William, and a Henry, too! And my fourth child, had she been a boy, would have been named Charlie! :) Funny.

    Anyway, I like to take one for the team many days, too. But on to my point… I once read that if you play –and I mean really get down on their level and play something THEY want to play– with the kids for 15 minutes, they’ll give you an entire hour to do what you need to (cook, clean, etc.). I have found that to be true, but more importantly, I have found how much I like my children as little people when I play with them. I learn little secrets that have been hiding in their minds… I learn how much they just want to be with their mommy, how much they just want to play with me. And then my heart breaks a little bit when I realize how little I sometimes give.

  2. Yum!..
    Naturally you baked :) Sam has been up since 5am and I think we may have one of “those” days..time to get my baking sheet out!

    Thank you for the recipe :)

  3. So true! I find that with my boys too. They just want a little focused time – it doesn’t take much – even just 10 minutes does the trick.

    Thanks for the reminder! I’m going to work on “taking 10” more!

  4. I love that William is so bald!! My son is just starting to get long wisps of hair at 9 months. I thought I’d never see a more cue-ball baby until I saw pictures of sweet William. Bald is beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

