Turn that frown up-side down

I think most of my blog posts in the last few months could be compiled into a collection.  Titles could include:  “And then there were three.”  Or: “Essay’s from a rambling mom.”  Perhaps: “The postpartum days:  When the hormones and sleep deprivation really start messing with your mind and you don’t even realize it.”

Or most appropriate could be the quote I came across last weekend – it seems applicable to almost all aspects of my life.

“I used to be indecisive, but now I’m not so sure.”

Are the kids coming down with something?  Disposable or cloth?  Does this look like a mom outfit?  Am I too relaxed as a parent?  Is this vaccination safe?  Do I give each child enough attention?  Am I doing this right? You know, all of the simple things that moms deal with on a day-to-day basis.

Good news.  Seems I’ve gotten all of my wallowing out of my system.  For the time being.

Thank you to everyone who has been on “Libby watch” the last few days.  I’m fine.  Really.  One sad melt-down in Michael’s and the troops rallied.

It was nice to be reminded {with help from my mom and a few friends} that I just had a baby twelve weeks ago.  That I also have two other small people who depend on me for almost everything.  That no, I haven’t slept through the night for over three months.  And those hormones have {and will} continue to make themselves at home.  And despite all of that, life seems to be charging full steam-ahead.  That no, {bless his heart Alex} there isn’t really anything that can be “changed” or “fixed” to make things better.  That it “is what it is” at this stage of the game and that’s OK.  That having one bad day doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy the other 364 days in the year.

As for yesterday and today?

My support system jumped into place big-time.

Henry spent the afternoon with Nana.  Alex fed William a pumped bottle at 2 a.m.  The next day I had coffee with a friend after dropping Henry off at school.  I then came home and had coffee with another dear friend {who just happen to be visiting from Austria – good timing no?}  My aunt called to see how I was doing and to let me know that I had helped unknowingly to make her day.  My grandma came over for lunch and we had homemade chicken noodle soup.  My mom called me from Target and helped check off my to-do list.  There were plenty of encouraging e-mails in my in-box and supportive comments here.  Our neighbor took Henry and their son to see Charlotte’s Web {a children’s play production was in town}, out to lunch and then to the gymnastics center to play.  Poppy and Burdie came over to watch all three boys while Alex and I went out to dinner with friends, allowing us to reminisce about our recent trip to Europe together.  And this morning I threw all caution to the wind and cancelled Charlie’s educator appointment and went to the MOPS Christmas Tea at our church.  It was so wonderful and comforting to be surrounded by so many moms who “get it.”  I can’t wait until I can start attending again on a regular basis.

There were also countless sweet moments with my kids reminding me of why it’s all worth it.  Charlie helping to set the table for dinner, handing me pillow as I make my bed {So amazing on so many levels!}  Reading stories and doing craft projects with Henry – precious quiet time with my oldest boy.  And enjoying endless smiles, coos, squeaks and squeals of delight from my growing-like-a-weed baby William.

Sometimes I have to stumble a few times before I realize that things are OK.  That I don’t have to be super mom.  My kids don’t care whether or not they are wearing cloth diapers.  {They were, now they aren’t.  I’ve found a happy alternative.}  The laundry doesn’t have to all be done {five to seven loads in one day} and put away before the day is over.  That asking for help doesn’t mean I’m a bad mom, or “can’t do my job.”  That those terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days can help to reign me back in, remind me to take my own advice and take it easy.

3 thoughts on “Turn that frown up-side down

  1. Hi Libby,
    I’ve read for so long…. and never commented. I just had a 3rd baby at the end of August and sooooo sooooo get your last couple entries. I am in exactly the same boat. Don’t know if it is just the 3rd or the timing of everything in life but I’m drowning… and still enjoying! I’m trying to change my expectations and realign my priorities and keep somewhat balanced but wow!! And remember it is just a season of life… where my devotional time with the Lord is in snatches, where I could write in the dust on my dresser (since when I did have time to dust, the front room that people might see took priority), where I am in high demand constantly… and would just like to go to the bathroom without an audience. Anyway, the days are long, the years are short… (how can my newborn be babbling and reaching out for things and holding his head up like a 3 month old already?) We ignored the laundry and got out the christmas tree and had fun decorating since they might remember that and are definitely not going to remember the wrinkly shirts. Thanks for reminding me I’m not alone, I’m not going crazy and it’ is OK. Keep at it :)

    • Hi Libby!

      I read your blog all the time to catch up on the boys and I admit when I read it a lot of times, I have mom envy! You run around, do errands, bake some amazing things, have time to post on this amazing blog and I think, sheesh I wish I could strive to be more like that. I only have two girls and I feel like there’s just not enough time in the day to get everything done that I want to get done. So it’s refreshing to know you have those days too…

      I find myself loosening up as the girls get older, the house doesn’t have to be perfect, if I bake a cake and it comes out not quite looking like it should have on the Wilton cake pan (yes, it happened, I frosted it on the wrong side :0) ] – that it’s okay, I did it out of love!

      It’s so busy and there’s not enough hours in the day but I also know this is the most cherished time in our lives and we’ll be yearning for these days when our children are grown and we see them with our grandkids so I try to tell myself that when I am feeling overwhelmed! You’re a wonderful mom and you’re doing an amazing job with having three little boys! Keep up the great work and Happy Holidays!

      Hugs,
      Lis :0)

Leave a Reply

