Yes, but what’s for dinner?

Food 07.09

Food is a hot topic.  And yes, maybe I’m a bit obsessed with food as of late – buying it, cooking it, eating it, reading about it, and now writing about it.  Again.

Last week I brought up the subject of food.  Wow.  It was fascinating the number of comments I received – some e-mails, but mostly in person.  One of the most common questions asked was:  So what do you end up making for dinner?  (Really, I think it was the polite way of asking: So how do you actually make any decent meals from that piddly shopping list?)

First off, I want to toss-out the idea that you have to be a stellar cook to prepare and enjoy great food.  I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a great cook. I make a handful of things really well, another handful of items in my repertoire are average but improving, and then there are a slew of dishes that I’m, well, let’s just say attempting with enthusiasm.

Every week or so, I try something new.  We typically eat that new meal the same day we make our trek to the grocery store.  That way I’m sure to have all of the ingredients on-hand (since a new recipe seems to always call for a new ingredient.)  The rest of the week?  Simple reigns around here, and bless Alex’s heart, he is totally fine with a dinner that isn’t always the most “conventional.”

Take last night for example.  Alex was home after an all-guys weekend and came back with pounds of fresh crab.  Needless to say, this week we will be centering most of our dinners around our fave shellfish.  Sure, there are a million and one amazing things we could do with this crab, but for us simple wins – especially in a household with hungry little ones at dinnertime.

So what is for dinner?  Fresh cracked crab (no sauce, or butter) maybe some fresh lemon, steamed local green beans (again, no seasoning or butter), grapes, caprese salad (fresh mozzarella, local tomato, basil from our backyard topped with olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette), blueberries and raspberries for Charlie, (buying time while he’s in his highchair and I’m getting dinner ready) and some apples slices (fresh local crop) for Henry (ditto, minus the highchair.)  Another evening?  Substitute chicken, salmon, or steak for the crab, mix things up with an occasional green salad, some brown rice or couscous (our fave right now is whole wheat with sun dried tomatoes and either walnuts or pine nuts mixed in) or some fresh bread.  Ta-da!  A handful of dinners for the week.

Fresh. Simple. Good food. Easy. Go ahead – give it a try.

4 thoughts on “Yes, but what’s for dinner?

  1. We eat meals much like you all do-only a few things that go together nicely. I don’t try new things very often, and I make a casserole every couple of weeks, but I like to keep it as simple as possible.

  2. I love to cook, love to try new recipes, I also want to feed my children healthy food.
    However, doing this consistently is a struggle for me, I’m not sure why. Maybe because I’m not very organized?
    I really enjoy your posts about this subject, keep them coming, they are inspiring me to get my act together on a more permanent basis.

  3. I love thinking about and planning my family’s meals – it is so fun to peek into how other families eat! I am totally with you – fresh, simple, easy = delicious.

Leave a Reply

