Mistreating My Kitchen Window

Somehow I’ve reached the point where I’m writing a post about home decorating.  And I’m certainly not claiming to be a decorator, but lately I’ve been inspired by The Nester.  Her philosophy (or at least one of them) is that we all “know” what needs to be done around our house, and we don’t need to hire anyone to tell us how to do it.  We just need to do it already.  Paint the walls.  Move the couch – whatever.

I decided to put that philosophy into action, though I thought it best to start small.  Inspired by this post I was determined to add some character to the “plain jane” window over my kitchen sink.  And yes, this project required my first visit (ever) to the fabric store.  It took me over an hour, but I walked out armed with three different fabrics and some upholstery tacks.  An anxiety attack was averted, but I was still sweating profusely as I left the store.  I mean really – what was I doing in a fabric store when I don’t even own a sewing machine?  (And still can’t sew on a button for that matter.)

Never the less I was on a mission.  Supported by fabric and tacks.

dsc_0002dsc_0009

Yes, I realize that one of the fabrics I selected is black.  Yes, I do acknowledge that black curtains aren’t well-known for adding “pizazz.”  However, in my defense I would like to point out that I did hold back on purchasing a chocolate brown fabric as well.  What can I say?  Under pressure I went with my comfort colors.  And really, if I was going with comfort it’s shocking that I didn’t walk out with some sort of denim material.  But people, I have standards.  Denim is for jeans only.  No denim windows.  (And if I’ve offended any denim window treatments out there, I’m sure that they look fantastic in your house – just not over my kitchen sink.)

Boy I get off track easily don’t I?

Once home I was focused.  And in five minutes (no measuring, sewing or gluing necessary) my window had gone from plain to fancy.

dsc_0014

Or stuffy?  It was certainly a step in the right direction, but the fabric didn’t seem quite right.  I was looking for something more whimsical, with a burst of color.

Fast-forward to Saturday evening.  We were having friends over for dinner (eight adults + five kiddos = beautiful chaos) and I was busy setting the table.  As I was taking my new table runner off the table – my fun, colorful, and whimsical table runner – I had an idea.

A few minutes later, I finally had the “perfect” window “mistreatment” for my kitchen sink.  Using my table runner!  No it’s not professionally “perfect” – I eye-balled it – as I hung the fabric, but it fits our kitchen nicely.  In other words – it’ll do.

dsc_0015dsc_0014_2dsc_0010

Now I just need to figure out what to do with the fabric from the fabric store…

12 thoughts on “Mistreating My Kitchen Window

  1. I have had fabric for this very thing for at least 2 months ;-) I haven’t had any inspiration of the guts to figure out something to do with my Mom’s sewing machine. I think this is a great idea… I’ll send you a picture if it works out ;-)

    Have a great week,
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

