Classic Cutie

The scene:

You are three years old.

New tan sweater – wearing it for the first time and the darn zipper is already stuck.

Those back to school shoes?  Not so new looking anymore.

Dad has repeatedly combed down your hair with water (and a bit of product) hoping that it won’t pop back up.

You are relaxing at the beach.  Sand, grass, the ocean is in the distance.

Well, sort-of.

henry-school080073

Who says paying an outrageous price for a school photo isn’t worth it?

3 thoughts on “Classic Cutie

  1. You know, my husband likes to give me grief about buying marginal photos of my already-photo-documented-to-the-nth-dgree child…but really, how can anyone possibly resist?

    And, pretty impressive that whole faux beach scene…remember when they’d just pull down a blue screen behind us in school?

    I say you’re lookin’ sharp, Henry!

  2. I would love to have a book! My son, Cristian, is now 4.5 years old. My life changed at 20 weeks in utero when my ob-gyn noticed that my son had enlarged kidneys. At 28 weeks, we had the big sonogram that led us to the new information of Trisomy 13, 18, and 21, and possible Dandy Walker brain malformation. (a very rare brain defect- missing cerebellum, fluid filled, no corpus collassum….) We opted for no further testing since our son was our son no matter what. They didn’t think he would survive gestation. I wouldn’t accept this dim diagnosis of DW.

    Birth Day came June 14, 2006 at 38 weeks. We had a normal c-section, in NICU for 1 week-jaundice, high blood pressure, needing oxygen mist, tests, tests, and tests. He weighed 7.3 lbs and 20 inches long. We got him to nurse successfully with a breast shield and on Day 3 it was confirmed Down Syndrome with no Dandy Walker! Best news I had ever heard in my entire life. I knew that we could handle DS, but Dandy Walker?

    (…they said he’d be a vegetable, and that I was too far long to have an abortion. Wish I could’ve aborted that perinatologist! I couldn’t believe it…they were like vultures on finding this rare diagnosis. I was livid.)

    I am a mom of 4 kids, Isla is 10, Sarah 8, Reina 6 and my only son, Cristian is 4.5. My son attends Pre-K in a general ed class, he dances Zumba, loves ballet folklorico and flamenco, (I own my own dance studio) loves to jump on trampoline, to read… doesn’t like vegetables too much since he was once called one. LOL! I have become this Mom I have always wanted to be since my son came along. He has changed me in such loving and unconditional ways. I live each day as if it was my last. We work hard to advocate for my son’s rights. If it will help pave the way for the family coming right behind ours, we’ll do it! It has taken me a while to learn to be the advocate that my son needs for me to be. I relish in all his accomplishments big and small, forever mesmerized by his smile, his cunning ways! Cristian is such a smart boy with a smile to charm anyone. He is the sparkle in my eye, the warmth in my heart, the light of my soul. I am blessed to his mother.

    You may visit at http://www.myspace.com/ruizdance for more information. Facebook at Ariana Ruiz. (most updated) I welcome your friendship.

    Ariana Ruiz
    703 South Blanco St.
    Lockhart, TX 78644

Leave a Reply

