Senate Passes Disability Diagnosis Bill

***Updated, September 26, 2008***

The bill passed through the House which means that its on its way to the President!  Hold me back, I’m just one step away from singing some “School House Rock” ….

“I’m just a bill. Yes, I’m only a bill. And I’m sitting here on Capitol Hill…”

For more detail about the bill going through the House and to the President (and the steps that still need to happen) check out this site.

According to the AP today:

“The Senate also approved legislation, promoted by Sens. Edward Kennedy, D-Mass., and Sam Brownback, R-Kan., that requires that families receiving a pre-natal or post-natal diagnosis of Down Syndrome or other conditions be given up-to-date information about the nature of the condition and be connected to support services.”

To learn more about the bill check out this site for a more comprehensive summary and what it really means.

Wohoo!  This is such big news, espeically for families with babies who are diagnosed prenatally with Down syndrome.  Remember that e-mail I sent out a few months back asking (begging) you to contact your local representatives about this specific piece of legislation?  Well, this was the bill, and it just passed through the Senate today and will make its way to the House tomorrow.

And you thought they were just focusing on the economy this week in Washington!  This may be actual proof that our government can multitask.   Maybe.

2 thoughts on “Senate Passes Disability Diagnosis Bill

  1. I’m sure that it is the rest of the post that I was supposed to notice, but once you quoted Schoolhouse Rock, I’m afraid my mind went mushy and now that song is going round and round in my head. Kind of sad that most of my understanding of our gov’t system comes from Saturday morning television. And don’t even get me started on conjunctions! (Conjunction, junction, what’s your function?…)

Leave a Reply

