He Is

When something turns your world up side down, how you cope has a way of changing the way you live your life.  Life becomes much more complex and some funny things start to happen.  You feel and savor every moment of life.  You want to share your life with others, to let them glimpse the new depth and complexities of your “changed” life.  You want to share your heart, to let others know that you “get it,” that you truly see each person as they are.  And you want to share the name of Jesus.

My desire is to glorify the Lord by sharing our story, to show you that He is real.  To see that I’m not living in a make-believe, fairy-tale world in which I am using the Lord to help me “cope” when life gets tough.

Before I go any farther I want to reiterate a point that I made in a previous post – good or bad – I’m not a person who goes through life with my sole focus on converting others.  I love the Lord.  However, I pray that I can tell our family’s story authentically while finding a balance between not alienating people who aren’t believers and sharing my heart.

Here’s the deal.  After an experience like ours (Charlie’s birth and diagnosis of Down syndrome) many people choose a “side” as far as God is concerned.  You either lose your belief in Him (or find that it was never there.)  Or you discover a stronger faith, realizing that God’s plan is much greater than your own personal circumstances. I chose the latter.

I’m sure that many people look at our life and think it’s “cute” how I have chosen to embrace the Lord. They probably think it is strange that I even go so far as praising Him for our new experiences – giving Him all the glory.  You know the type  – using God as a sort of “security blanket” during a rough patch in life.

This is the truth.  I believe in Jesus.  I believe that He is love.  I believe He is the Son of God.  I believe that He died for us on the cross, so that we could have everlasting life.  I believe that He is the one and only way to Heaven.  Simple as that.

OK, still with me?  I also believe that satan is alive and well in the world.  I believe that there is a war going on in our world all around us – a war in the spiritual realm.  I believe that the lies of the enemy are thriving in our culture.  I believe that his lies are becoming harder and harder to decipher from the truth.  Even as a strong Christian, I often find myself falling for his lies and believing them as truth.

What are some of satan’s lies?  Here are some of the lies I have dealt with recently:  Children with Down syndrome should be terminated during pregnancy (this lie has become fully accepted in our world.)  After all, we are told it’s the right thing to do – their lives aren’t of any value in our culture.  As a parent I should feel sorry for myself and be angry with the Lord for allowing this to happen to me.  The belief that we “deserve” to be happy – that life should be free from worry, struggles and sorrow.  Lies, lies and more lies.  Some are simple and others complex.  What lies have you bought into?

I’m not embarrassed to share this part of our story with you.  And I’m not afraid to bring up touchy issues.  I believe the Bible is true.  I believe that He died for me.  I believe that He had the power to heal Charlie before he was born.  But He didn’t.  He has a plan for this world and Charlie is a part of it – just as he is.  While I may never know why, I know that He is in control.

I am confidant that God will use Charlie’s life for good – He has already.

And I’m just as sure that satan has other plans.

There are still many bumps in the road ahead.  That is to be expected in life.  I know that life here on earth isn’t perfect.  We are living in a broken world that is easily decieved by satan’s lies.  We are going to be hurt.  We will experience disappointment.  But I also know that in this life there is great joy to be experienced.  You just have to know where to look.

7 thoughts on “He Is

  1. WOW! I LOVE the fact that you embrace your faith and put it out there for the world to see. Thank you for stating the lies satan would love for us to believe (the termination example was perfect). I too believe that if (and that is a big IF) my GOD wanted to rearrange Joseph’s DNA then HE would and HE could but HE didn’t and what a blessing it has been. Libby, your faith is empowering and your love abundant. God bless you and your family as you journey down the T-21 highway.

    Christie (from babycenter.com, s/n one+twins=3boys) mom to Jared and the twins Joseph (T21) and Jackson

  2. Libby and family– Your story is simply beautiful. I love your matter of factness with regard to faith. More people in our world need to stand up for what they believe and not feel as if they will be ridiculed in anyway for their beliefs. I continue to keep your family in my prayers. May God continue to bless your journey!!!!

  3. I have had the same exact struggles that you describe. As a Christian, learning of my son’s Ds diagnosis and knowing God chose him to be just as he is, was difficult. I love the Lord and know he has a plan for Nathan and our family – a BIG plan! But, even knowing that, I’ve struggled. I won’t lie – it’s been difficult and I’ve prayed about it.

    At the end of the day, I’m thankful for my awesome, cute as a button, son and the blessings he has brought to my life and pray that God uses us in a mighty way.

  4. Libby! A hearty “AMEN!” We’ve all read your post–including Tyler, and concur that you are successful in your quest to glorify God. You are a blessing:-)

  5. I found your blog via Angie Smith’s and wanted to tell you that I love your writing. But more than that, I love how your heart for Jesus shines bright. And Charlie, well, he’s beautiful and I’m so glad to “meet” him through your site.

    I’m an AMA (Advanced Maternal Age) mom who was offered (strongly encouraged) any number of prenatal tests but I refused, beyond the 20-week ultrasound (to determine sex), because I knew the results would change nothing for us. I’m deeply saddened by the trend to terminate pregnancies based on abnormal tests (that are not always accurate). Anyway, I did not make friends with my OB/GYN by refusing the various recommendations. But I wasn’t there to make a friend, I was there to get a check-up and, ultimately, have a baby.

    While pregnant with my second child, I read a powerful article from a woman of a child with numerous developmental delays. She, too, spoke of being chosen by God. I sat in the deli and cried over the article. I love that you feel your calling is to mother with grace. How blessed is Charlie?! Beyond blessed.

    Thank you for sharing your story.

    Marcie

Leave a Reply

