Life is Good

It occurred to me that some of my posts might give the impression that this last year has been full of tears, trials and tribulations with only brief moments of joy.  I assure you that while there were times of struggle (and there still are) – our days, weeks and months have been filled with life.

Good old-fashioned everyday life.  And many of you have shared our days with us.  Trips to get coffee with the boys. Visits to the library.  Play dates at the park.  Bedtime stories.  Dinners with friends and family.  Bible studies and small groups.  Church.  Family vacations.  Jam-packed weekends.  Swimming.  Skiing.  Tennis.  Golf.  Hiking.  Evening walks as a family.  Volunteer work.  Baptisms.  Birthdays.  Anniversaries.  Celebrations.  Milestones – both big and small.  And plenty of laundry.

Life is good.  My previous posts were honest – they were meant to be and will continue to be.  I don’t want to pretend like those feelings weren’t real.  They were.  But, I do want to clarify – those were struggles that I was going though, mostly in private.  And I think that upon reflection they tell a beautiful story.  We didn’t just shrug our shoulders and move on “life as usual” after Charlie was born.  Yet at the same time we did.  There was just an undercurrent of processing and figuring out where we now stood in the world that was taking place.  It was a refining process that made us stronger.  We felt more.  We understood more.  And our faith grew.  Yes, we are still in the midst of this refining process, but part of me thinks that’s just life – good old-fashioned everyday life.

So yes, of course Charlie’s diagnosis has changed our lives – but not in the ways that most people would expect.  I wouldn’t change our experience for anything in the world.  And that is why I feel like ours is a story worth telling.

Here are some photos of our family living that I wanted to share…

Big brother Henry meeting Charlie for the first time.

Big brother Henry meeting Charlie for the first time.

Charlie - two months old.

Charlie - two months old.

Henry proving that golf is a year-round sport.

Henry proving that golf is a year-round sport.

Mom and Charlie at Thanksgiving

Mom and Charlie at Thanksgiving

Family ski vacation

Family ski vacation.

Charlie almost 7 months old.

Charlie almost seven months old.

Charlie almost nine months old.

Charlie almost nine months old.

Hiking together as a family.

Hiking together as a family.

At the beach this summer.

At the beach this summer.

An evening out...celebrating at a friends wedding.

An evening out...celebrating at a friends wedding.

My two boys wrestling today.

My two boys wrestling today.

All done for the day.

Whew - All done!

7 thoughts on “Life is Good

  1. Love the photos, Libby. And, don’t worry, I don’t think you’ve given the impression that your life is all drama. I think my blog would give the impression that my life is all about Soren, and while that is true to some degree (LOL!) it really is just the focus of the blog. So, your focus is about raising a son who happens to have Down syndrome and all the joy, drama, questions, happiness and EVERYTHING that entails. I enjoy reading it. Thanks for sharing.

    BTW, I recently discovered blurb.com. It allows you to turn your blog into a printed book. You might take a look, because your story will make a lovely bound book.

    Looking forward to your next installment…

  2. I know I speak for both McCoy’s when I say we have been really blessed to do ‘everyday life’ with you guy’s this summer and I am looking forward to so much more of that as the year progresses.

  3. Libby,
    I was so excited to see the pics of the boys.They are getting so big.It seems like I haven’t seen them in forever. I love to read what you write it makes me feel that I do not need to wine and complain about the little things my kids do but enjoy the little moments that I have with them.Hey would you tell Henry HI for me:)

Leave a Reply

