I’m back.

In the kitchen that is.

With my helpers of course.

The fog was slow to lift but this week I’m finally feeling like myself again.  This was especially made obvious by our grocery bill which probably doubled {tripled} on my last shopping trip.  Yay food!  It’s also pretty obvious when you glance at our kitchen counter which is overrun with baked goods.  In the last few day we’ve made Andrea’s homemade granola, our favorite chocolate chip cookies, chunky banana bran muffins and my new favorites – gluten free chocolate chip cookies with shredded coconut and chopped pecans.

Yes, those pregnancy pounds may not have found me in the first trimester but it’s looking like I’m off to set record during the second.

The only downside is that I have yet to translate all of this energy into dinner time.  Mornings are great, lunches are my favorite, and in the afternoon I’m ready to whip up some sort of treat.  But by dinner I’m just plain hungry and exhausted and don’t want to prepare a darn thing.  So in the meantime I’ve tried out recipes like these wraps {The kids and I loved them, Alex not so much.}  I’ve also got all the basics on hand for kale and quinoa salads and the like.  Easy-peasy, plus I owe it to the baby.  {I *may* have consumed my fair share of top ramen in the first trimester.}  That and I’m pretty much grossed out by all meat and fish.

Chunky Banana Bran Muffins {recipe from Ina, but slightly adapted by me}

  • 2 cups unprocessed wheat bran
  • 2 cups buttermilk (shaken)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 4 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup unsulphured molasses
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 cups mashed bananas
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Place paper liners into muffin tin.

Combine the bran and buttermilk and set aside. Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment for about 5 minutes, until light and fluffy. With the mixer on low, add the eggs, 1 at a time. Scrape the bowl and then add the molasses, orange zest, and vanilla. (The mixture will look curdled.) Add the bran/buttermilk mixture and combine.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. With the mixer on low-speed, slowly add the flour mixture to the batter just until combined. Don’t overmix it! Fold in the raisins, bananas and walnuts with a rubber spatula.

With an ice cream scoop or large spoon, fill the muffin cups to the top and bake for 18-20 minutes.  {my oven bakes fast and hot}

Gluten-free Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies  {adapted from here and from Pamela’s chocolate chip cookie recipe on the package.}

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups Pamela’s Baking Mix
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips with 60% cacao
  • 1/2 cup of shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans

To make:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Cream together softened butter with the sugar.
  • Add egg + vanilla, mix
  • Add Pamela’s mix then chocolate chips + salt + nuts + coconut, mix
  • 1 Tbs makes about 20 cookies.
  • Place cookies parchment paper on baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes.

Veggie Wraps {via, and of course slightly altered by me.}

  • 1 apple
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 cucumber
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • baby spinach
  • whipped cream cheese
  • mango chutney
  • multi-grain tortillas
  • Use food processor to shred the apple, cucumber, and carrot. Make sure to work in batches so that you are shredding and not creating a bunch of liquid.
  • Next, squeeze lemon on top of slaw, stir.
  • Take one carton of whipped cream cheese and add about 2 T – 3 T of the mango chutney.
  • Take tortilla and spread a good amount of the cream cheese mixture all over the tortilla. Then top with spinach and lastly with the slaw.  {You will want to drain some of the slaw liquid before adding it to the wrap.

How’s that for recipe overload?

3 thoughts on “I’m back.

  1. Congratulations on the news of a baby girl! I have to say I am a bit jealous with three boys, always wondered if a fourth would be my girl :)

  2. I remember writing you this past summer right before we were to have our 4th little boy!! Can’t believe he’s already 5.5 months! When you first said you were pregnant, I was wondering if you’d have 4 boys too, but congrats on a little girl! I know either way you are thrilled–whatever the Lord wants! Still loving reading your little space! Thanks for the recipes too!

Leave a Reply

